Tuesday, July 20, 2010

I Luv my Dark Circles..........

Surfing through newspaper ,saw an AD by Vaseline to promote a skin lighening product for men (ah very rarely otherwise the onus for getting fairer remains on the women all the time)
The campaign has launched a application on FB that allows men to upload their picture and “transform” it to a “new and improved fairer” them, just like the product will do. Attempt to look fair and promote ‘white’ as beautiful ……
The degree of fairness, from “very fair” to “fair” to “wheatish” seems to be the most important…. complexion takes precedence over educational qualification and occupation…
The real issue is not the application or ad but the mind-set…
Coming back to my gender I thought abt the vast market of fairness crèmes-500$million a year in India alone…whooping amount tht we spend on being fair….n its rather icky reminder of the pigment-o-crasy tht exist in our country or may b in many cultures….
N at the basic system not realizing tht our basic colour being Indians is wheatish generally n one tht is beautiful in our culture n weather n we are not blondes n we not living in USA etc….
This is ridiculous….
This reminds me of another personal incident whn I went to buy a face wash n while I was deciding which one to buy(I hav nvr stuck to any particular brand..will buy n use anything..) the new eager salesgirl pestered me to buy a undereye dark circle crème explaining its miraculous benefits in 14 days n my eyes(to b specific my undereyes or dark circles) in intense need of it…I kept listening till the time I choose n paid for my facewash.then I looked at her n told her calmly n sweety –“dear im in luv with my dark circles ..i dnt want a cure for them”all of a sudden everyone looked at me stunned n with bewilderment..but I left thm tht way n came off …but tht set me thinking………..
Are only fair people lovely?
Y our obsession with white skin?
Y do we use fairness products?
Y not we in luv with our dark circles n pimples?
Y not we in luv with wht we are?the way we are?
May b its easy for me to say ths coz I hav been gifted with beautiful complexion tht glows frm within n which had been the envy of my siblings since childhood…my cheeks were pinched hurtedly like googly wooghly ad till the time I started revolting…
But tht the reason more easy for me to say ths…I nvr had any hang-up’s abt my complexion yes I do luv it but simply coz I own it not coz ppl are amazed at it….i wanna take girls by shoulders n tell them tht luv urself…
Luv ur complexion..luv your dark circles..luv your pimples n scars….
There is more to u thn your beauty n skin-its your mind..your heart..your soul…enhance its beauty..dnt fall prey to stupid products thy cant change your genes …yes do care abt yourself in terms of hygiene…beilieve in your basic beauty..

For me-pimples dark circles complexion are part of me..my idenitity..my being its wht im ..n the way im..they define me n so they beautiful coz I own them ..thy are truly mine.i want to instill n enhance endurance ,gentleness ,compassion, tenderness, luv n care today n always in me to feel n remain beautiful ever……
Confidence is the most sexiest thing a girl can have…..believe in u n the world believes in you……….
Thts the reason I luv my dark circles

No comments: